top of page
Search
  • carsonikeda14

Yonsei University

When I stepped foot on campus, I was shocked with how clean the architecture was. On top of that, the orientation was really nice, they even had a K-Pop performance to welcome us all as international students. Starting the semester was a little nerve wracking as classes were hybrid (in-person and pre-recorded lecture). I was taking Korean I, Business Negotiations, Organizational Behavior, and Interanational Business Communication, and Personnel Compensaiton (Asynchronoous UH-Manoa Course). With a total of 5 classes there were moments where I would overstress about how I was doing in each to make scholarship quota. It was pressure like I had never experienced in combination with living on my own for the first time. I learned how to stay conscious of deadlines (even across different time zones). I also had a combination of SAY International courses and Yonsei courses (English Instructed). I say that from my personal expereince, that with the right mindset and setting time aside to study a lot is possible. It is also another factor to not doubt your own ability either. An exam I thought I did sub-par in and stressed out over, I received an A, scoring higher than the average student in that course. Sometimes life can be simpler then what we make it out to be. The most interesting class I took was business negotiations where I was paired with English speaking Yonsei students and we were given cases that we would roleplay in a competition of who could get the best deal. From game theory, utilizing caluclations for asset returns, and appeasing institutional dillemas such as sustainability in a compromisable manner. I am extremely grateful for the knowledge I was able to receive at Yonsei University and hope to use the negotiation tricks I learned for good of course.


NTIZ "Not Trick Its Zeal"


Given the opportunity to Join a Yonsei Club other than the Mentor's program, I decided to step outside of my comfort zone and joined the NTIZ Yonsei Mentalist Club! The people in this organization were the most inviting people and a lot of them spoke fairly good English. I learned how to dribble a deck, perform basic mentalist/card magic, and gained perceptive over close up hand tricks. It was not anything like how I expected, they were extremely down to earth and had a strong club culture that invited everyone to after meeting outings in Sinchon. A refreshing take that isn't even a guarantee in America, so I am glad that I chose NTIZ during the Yonsei club fair. I hope to embody the passion that each of them members put into their craft, as the secret to every trick is the hard work you beat life into.










29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Busan

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page